Home > Diet & Health > E Numbers Not Suitable for a Halal Diet

E Numbers Not Suitable for a Halal Diet

By: Rachel Newcombe - Updated: 19 Jul 2023 | comments*Discuss
Halal Diet Dietary Restrict Restriction

If you’re following a halal diet for religious reasons then it’s important to know which E numbers aren’t suitable to be consumed. Here we explore which numbers you should be avoiding.

The term halal is an Arabic word that means permissible and refers to food that is permissible to eat according to Islamic laws. As a result of these laws, foods such as pork, or any product containing ingredients sourced from pork, such as gelatine, are unable to be consumed by Muslims. The situation can be a bit tricky when it comes to E numbers, as in order to be sure that they are halal, you need to know the full origins of the additive.

The origins can sometimes vary. For example, in the case of antioxidants such as E306 (tocopherol), it is halal if the tocopherol comes from plant fat. However, it’s not halal if the tocopherol is obtained from pork fat. Some of the other E numbers that can be variable include:

  • E470 to E483 – these emulsifiers can be halal, unless they are obtained from pork or non-halal meat sources.
  • E542 – edible bone phosphate. This isn’t halal if it comes from pork or non-halal sources.
  • E422 – glycerol or glycerine. This can be halal, unless it is obtained from pork or non-halal meat sources.
In the case of E numbers that could be derived from animal or plant sources, the best way to be sure of where they come from is to either look at the packaging or contact the manufacturer. If the packaging says, “suitable for vegetarians,” the chances are that the ingredients are from plant sources. But if you want to double-check, then phone or write to the manufacturer and ask for clarification. It’s also worth noting that some mosques and Muslim organisations maintain lists of non-halal E numbers, so ask if anything is available in your area.

Halal Unsuitable E Numbers

  • E120 – cochineal
  • E140 – chlorophyll
  • E141 – copper phaeophytins
  • E252 – potassium nitrate
  • E422 – glycerol/glycerine
  • E430 – polyoxyethelene (8) stearate
  • E431 - polyoxyethelene (40) stearate
  • E433 – polysorbate 80
  • E470 – sodium salts
  • E471 – glyceryl monosterate
  • E472a – acetic esters of fatty acids
  • E472b - lactic esters of fatty acids
  • E472c - citric esters of fatty acids
  • E472d - tartaric esters of fatty acids
  • E472e - acetyltartaric esters of fatty acids
  • E473 – sucrose esters
  • E474 – sucroglycerides
  • E475 - polyglycerol esters of fatty acids
  • E476 - polyglycerol polyricinoleate
  • E477 - propylene glycol esters
  • E478 - lactylated glycerol esters
  • E491 - sorbitan monostearate
  • E492 - sorbitan Tristearate
  • E494 - sorbitan mono-oleate
  • E542 - edible bone phosphate
  • E570 – stearic acid
  • E572 – magnesium stearate
  • E631 – sodium 5 inosinate
  • E635 – sodium 5 ribonucleotide
  • E904 - shellac
It’s important to note that ingredients of products do change, so a processed food that you have been unable to eat in the past may become suitable for a halal diet at a later stage if the offending E number is removed or replaced. Likewise, things can change in the other direction, with manufacturers adding different E numbers to favourite foods so they suddenly become unsuitable for your dietary requirements. So keep up-to-date up studying food labels and consulting with other Muslims, so you can be sure what you’re eating is permissible at all times.

Website Design and Hosting

If you are looking to increase brand awareness, generate web enquiries and/or generate online sales ISD will create an affordable, mobile friendly, secure website - check out In Studio Design.

Based in the UK, skilled in WordPress, web design, ecommerce and illustration, they will build your site quickly, host it on a high performance server, and make it SEO friendly.

You might also like...
Share Your Story, Join the Discussion or Seek Advice..
[Add a Comment]
Is E202 is halal?
Mak - 19-Jul-23 @ 10:35 AM
E140 is a plant product, not derived from meat at all. Please check your facts.
Kiwi - 1-Jul-23 @ 4:24 PM
"Diary milk" from pigs? Really?
Kiwi - 1-Jul-23 @ 4:18 PM
If I could send u photo of product from Australia Mondelez Australia (food) LTD Light Spreadable cream cheese (Philadelphia Brand) Protein not categorised ? Saturated Fat was mention not categorised ? Apparently the Ingredient labelled only mentioned plants and artificial additives which include Ins410 & Ins412 ? It’s weird the labelling food health should be more clearer and for Muslim consumer if they not aware who will bear the sins. Please advise Haram Harami
Wang - 12-Jun-23 @ 4:59 PM
Jazakhallahhairan... It's great for all mankind... Thank You
ABDUL - 24-Oct-20 @ 5:31 AM
@Miss You're absolutely right and quite a keen eye to catch it I did check it on Google and the first two E numbers n chemicals mentioned are acquired from plant sources
FY - 28-May-20 @ 3:51 PM
Thank you for giving us useful information.
MOIDULISLAM - 15-Jan-19 @ 10:39 PM
Thanks for informative article. In my opinion E numbers and other such tricky nomenclature are used in food and such other products to at best confuse and at worst to misguide the consumers. I fail to understand why the labeling can not be done in straightforward way listing the ingredients which common public can understand. Like for product derived from fat, print plant fat or animal fat from which animal. This will put to rest unnecessary arguments and controversies.
HN - 12-Jan-19 @ 4:43 PM
Thanku for giving me use full imformation
Shani - 6-Jan-19 @ 3:12 PM
Is emulsifier (442,476) halal??? Plz let me know.....
Wajeeha - 4-Jan-19 @ 7:48 AM
Lays ,diary milk ,kolson salenty are all made from pig's fat . It is a request for Muslim that these things are Haram to us . Our religion is most important to us . Please avoid all these things
Salu - 12-Dec-18 @ 4:01 AM
Thank you so much for these valuable informations. But how to do identify those E- type containing in the food? Many packages doesn't mentioned sources from which prepared!
Mu'ZTalk - 10-Dec-18 @ 4:29 AM
You've listed E140 Chlorophyll as unsuitable for the halal diet but that comes from plants, doesn't it? Chlorophyll is what makes plants green so essentially it's just green food colouring that comes from plants? Please correct me if I'm wrong.
Miss - 8-Dec-18 @ 11:51 AM
I am Seventh-day Adventist Christian who also, for religious reasons, do not consume any pork containing foods. Would you recommend I followed the same as above?
Ace - 22-Jul-18 @ 7:47 PM
Every muslim should stick to Islamic rules in order to safeguard his/her eemaan. Therefore one should eat only what is halal and refrain himself / herself from forbidden food items like pork or pig fat.
Sag-e-Kichhauchha - 2-Feb-18 @ 6:24 PM
Thanks for the information! I really appreciate it!
Abdul Ahad - 15-May-16 @ 6:33 PM
hasan - 15-Jan-13 @ 5:57 PM
Share Your Story, Join the Discussion or Seek Advice...
(never shown)
(never shown)
(never shown)
(never shown)
Enter word: